Big Bend National Park 1: Travel Date Feb. 2013

Big Bend campsite: behind the tent is a dry tinaja that was handy for showering.

Big Bend campsite: behind the tent is a dry tinaja that was handy for showering.

Upon arrival at Big Bend National Park, two top-notch rangers set me up in the centrally located backcountry camp named Paint Gap 2.  My neighbors in Paint Gap 3 and I became fast friends, talking away the mornings as they fed me a gourmet home cooked breakfast each day.  Kel would walk over and wake me up around 8 am, and tell me to head over in 10-15 minutes when Julie would have the spread waiting.

Julie wondered if I was sleeping alright, given that I was going to bed earlier and waking up later than they were.  Sleep was in fact a challenge sometimes, as it is at home.  The campsite was 3 miles down a dirt road, the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility.  On the first day I hiked another 2 miles to road’s end and toured some old ranch ruins.  There were historically 3 different cattle ranches within the park boundaries.

The road into Paint Gap backcountry campsite.

The road into Paint Gap backcountry campsite.

About Jerry
Working in Corporate America for many years, I wanted to break free of the office walls for a bit and explore the world. Having put the pieces in place, I am first exploring the USA by road. Colleagues and friends expressed interest in my travels, giving rise to Office Escape. It is my honor to share my adventures.

2 Responses to Big Bend National Park 1: Travel Date Feb. 2013

  1. Julie and Kel Kohlhaas says:

    Hey Jerry,
    We have many sweet memories of our time with you in Big Bend, too. We’re looking forward to having you visit us either at our home in Michigan or meeting up farther north in Michigan. You would enjoy the Upper Peninsula. We are in Casper, WY visiting Kel’s daughter Stephanie and her family and will be heading back to Michigan on Monday–hopefully Spring in all its glory will greet us there. Where’s the pics of Padre Island? Snugs always, J&K

    • Jerry says:

      Julie and Kel,

      Thanks for reading and for keeping in touch. I am still working the South trip plan, in the final stages. I trust your jaunt to MT went well. I checked out Marianne Edwards’ web site but have not yet bought a membership. –Jerry

Leave a Reply

