Big Bend National Park 3: Travel Date Feb. 2013

I decided to take it easy and drive a Jeep trail today, after pounding my feet into misery with 14+ miles of hiking the day

Ernst Tinaja

Ernst Tinaja

before.  I drove the Old Ore Road from north to south, this direction having been recommended by the ranger for an easier angle on the rock ledges.  Said ledges turned out to be a non-event, but the thought was appreciated all the same.  The trail took me through 3 distinct types of desert terrain over its 32 winding, rocky miles.

The Ernst Tinaja is located along the southern part of the road, and I arrived at the Tinaja trailhead in late afternoon.  This is a series of 3 natural, circular deep water pools formed by red and white rock within a chaparral canyon.  The hike to the tinaja itself is one-half mile up a wash peppered with large boulders.  I climbed up the ledges on the canyon wall to access all 3 pools.  During my time there, a bat kept me company as he darted through the air catching bugs.  All 3 tanks were more than half full of water, though 2 were deep enough that I could not see the bottom.  The Park Service asks visitors not to make

Ernst Tinaja

Ernst Tinaja

Ernst Tinaja

Ernst Tinaja

any contact with the water in the Tinajas, as these are a vital water source for many of the animals that populate this hot desert.

Sunset was approaching as I came out of the canyon, captured in photo below.

Sunset from Old Ore Road

Sunset from Old Ore Road

Old Ore Road

Old Ore Road

About Jerry
Working in Corporate America for many years, I wanted to break free of the office walls for a bit and explore the world. Having put the pieces in place, I am first exploring the USA by road. Colleagues and friends expressed interest in my travels, giving rise to Office Escape. It is my honor to share my adventures.

Leave a Reply

